‘Buried Steel’
Catalogue Number: CSR278CD
Style: Doom Metal / Industrial
Format: CD in 6-panel digipak
Out: 13th March 2020
The brand new album Birmingham industrial doom metal duo Andy Swan (FINAL, IROHA) & Damian Bennett (TECHNO ANIMAL, CARTHAGE), feat Stephen Mallinder (CABARET VOLTAIRE, WRANGLER), Eugene Robinson (OXBOW) and more… ‘Buried Steel’ is the fourth album from KHOST, following the 2017 release ‘Governance’.

Themes and sonics of ‘Buried Steel’ range from granite and impassive to dreamlike and somnambulistic, in keeping with the promise – and threat – of the title, dwelling on slow, infallible ruination: a gravitational downthrust upon misshapen monuments and structures which are mangled, overgrown and increasingly forgotten. A monochrome landscape where nature reclaims and redefines us as time passes.

Recording of the album was marred with events such as an electrical fire which damaged some equipment. As a result, a number of tracks on the album had to be pieced together from damaged analogue elements such as reel to reel (Khost reel to reel RIP). From this point, the dynamic of some of the songs was altered, shifting their eventual outcome, particularly the tone of ambient work on Buried Steel. 

Further guests on ‘Buried Steel’ include Syan, Manuel Liebeskind, Daniel Buess (16-17, MIR) and Stephen Ah Burroughs (TUNNELS OF AH, ex-HEAD OF DAVID).

CD in 6-panel digipak with artwork contributions from Talitha Bell, Syan and Craig Earp.Track listing:

1. We Will Win (4:06)
2. Blood Gutters 6x4x1 (4:48)
3. Intravener (2:57)
4. Yellow Light (1:54)
5. Last Furnace (5:33)
6. Night Air (4:07)
7. Judgement Is Infallible (1:48)
8. Kent House (1:17)
9. December Bureau (5:26)
10. Vandals (1:57)
11. Dog Unit (4:13)
12. Two (1:19)
13. A Non Temporal Crawlspace (4:18)
14. Intravener In Dub (Mothboy Remix) (8:12) 

KHOST: facebook | bandcamp

Soundcloud: ‘Buried Steel (Playlist)

Video: “Blood Gutters 6x4x1”

Video: Album Teaser  

Customer Purchase Link: Cold Spring Store / Bandcamp


6 Mar – Stuck On A Name, Nottingham – with Ungraven
3 Apr – Temple Of Boom, Leeds – with Voices
24 Apr – The Black Heart, London – with Voices 

Eastern European tour, August 2020


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here