Monday, September 28, 2020
«« »»
Artist: Exit In Grey (@)
Title: Hysterics of the Eternal
Format: CD
Label: Frozen Light (@)
Distributor: Zhelezobeton
Rated: *****
Exit In Grey is Russian composer/producer Sergey Suhovik (otherwise simply known as [S] with numerous other projects to his credit such as Black Deal With Snow, Candyman And Evil Flowers, Five Elements Music, Radioson, Redhouse, Sister Loolomie. Exit In Grey 's prolific output goes back to 2004, with at least 16 previous albums to the project's credit. Although 'Hysterics of the Eternal' is largely based on sounds of radio noises, other (electronic) elements and electric guitar are also employed. In comparison with Kryptogen Rundfunk's 'Liquid Circuits' that I just reviewed, 'Hysterics of the Eternal' is a much more placid ambient outing. The first time I auditioned this recording consisting of two lengthy tracks, I didn't much care for it. It sounded as interesting as being trapped at a Siberian Numbers Station forced to listen to UVB-76. Subsequently though, my opinion has changed (as it often does), and it seems as though [S] has managed to combine the arcane with the sublime. These are awfully cold and bleak environments. Some humanity bleeds through in the (manipulated) radio transmissions, but by far and large, the sonics give the impression of loneliness and singularity. 'Hysterics of the Eternal' may be one of those albums that grows on you the more you play it, but it might be likely you won't play it often. If desolate, semi-minimal audio works are your thing, you'll be right at home with this album. Recorded in 2011, and mastered in 2016 by Oleg Hurvatov (Interior Disposition), and limited to 300 copies.


< Previous Review | Next Review >