Monday, June 1, 2020
«« »»
Artist: VV.AA.
Title: Weatherhead 3
Format: 2 x CD (double CD)
Label: Hypervoxx/Telegrammetry (@)
Distributor: CD Baby
Rated: *****
Well, I’m quite late on this and I hope that the guys of the Miami Vice don’t get me for this. The Hypervoxx label, a division of the FL-based Telegrammetry, returns with this long awaited release, a new part of the "Weatherhead" series. Since the last year has been a very difficult especially in the private life of label chief B. A. LaRed, a release like this DCD compilation offers hope, that things will be running smoother in 2K8. Yes, this time the "Weatherhead" compilation has grown to a DCD set and the staff around B. A. had to do some hard decisions, since more than 110 projects/bands have reacted on the call and have sent in stuff for consideration to take part. So at least you’ll get a quite quality oriented sort of a newcomer-compilation with only a few familiar acts but dozens of talented unknown names. Some of the Telegrammetry/Hypervoxx-recording artists of course are included and all of them are doing their very best to offer new and exclusive stuff. Greece-based AKRON continue with their cinematic instrumental music on their new track "X-Revenge". STAHLSCHLAG, based very near in my home area, continue their drastically Rhythm/Noise installments with a new tune. "Acute Netzzerstörung" (is this title correct printed???) comes out quite in vein of the current acts out of the ProNoize roster and this seems to be intentional. E-THIK is another act worth to mention here, their "Machtuefall" (again the question: is this a typo?) is rather more dedicated to classic forms of EBM instead of productions out of the nowadays Hellectro rush, plus the male vocals offer decent distortion effects. Although a parade example out of the often criticized Hellectro camp, the best appearance available on CD1 got provided by MORDACIOUS. Somehow SO it has to be sound if you like to take a step into this genre – well worked out synth bass lines and textures, a constant good rhythm work – this new MORDACIOUS track entitled "Death In Denial" beats almost everything of Mr. Mordacious’ previous compositions. CYANIDE REGIME, out of Miami and sorted under a comparable musically roof, give with "Vanquisher" an unfortunately already discovered, but still a quite valuable appearance. BLC Productions own act STIGMATA NL gives out another hellish teaser of their up and coming debut album out in the coming months – musically relations with MORDACIOUS are recognizable. Another rough and noisy tune got provided by ESA (didn’t they release an album on Hive Records?) and accomplishes the first out of two CD’s.
CD 2 starts with another unreleased remix work on one of the latest DIVERJE smasher tracks, "Smell The Blood", this time remixed by MORDACIOUS. The new HYPERVOXX-recording act GRADUAL HATE, a duo out of Spain, is also featured with their track "New Highway And Asolation". This one is taken from their debut "Asphyxiated World" – so let’s agree to rate it like this: well-done and valuable to take part on this comp, yes, but nevertheless one of their weaker tracks compared to some of their tunes on their album – soon, very soon more about them! Sweden’s TWZ, recently signed to the Hungarian-based Advoxya-Records label, give out an alternative version of their new track "The Grid", originally available on their up and coming new album "Evolution". As a trademark of them, their synth textures used as manipulated bass lines still offers them a sort of special niche in the scene. But the best track of this whole compilation got provided by an also to me quite unknown act named SCHISM TRACE. Reminds strongly on a mixture of old X MARKS THE PEDWALK ("Abortion") mixed with older FLA, excellent programmings, good sounding vocal manipulation and an addictive melodic content makes "The Failure" to nothing what the title may announces. BRAINCLAW are counting surely to be one of the better known acts available on this comp and their rich experience sound- and production-wise is recognizable in every second of their exclusive remix on "Feed The Machine". Addictive hook lines as usual, just another great work of this BLC-recording male/female duo. Germany’s [ORGANIC_CAGE] are surely one of the big up and coming artists for the rhythmically Powernoise genre. "Program Interrupt" though isn’t a favorite of this act, but a great example how this solo project treats his machinery.
A stylistically wide-ranging collection of newbies and established acts are featured on here, and so this new "Weatherhead" compilation reminds a bit on some BLC compilations out of the "Interbreeding" series. Quite good comp if you’re on the hunt for some new talents and so worth to spend some bucks on!

Track list:

1 Akron - X Revenge
2 Stahlshlag - Acute Netzzerstorung
3 E-thik - Machtuefall
4 Twinsine - Revolution
5 Andromeda 5 - Fleisch Und Blut
6 Mordacious - Death in Denial
7 Spit Static - Break It Off
8 Sino Re-build Projects - to Die
9 Acc:xess & Grammatik Inkorekt - Fyebs
10 Cyanide Regime - Vanquisher
11 Stigmata Nl - Satanus Malificarum
12 Esa - Tand

13 Diverje - Stitched (Mordacious Rmx)
14 Gradual Hate - New Highway & Asolation
15 Evlent Chapter - Tivoli
16 Total Pain Kollapz - Are You Scared?
17 Synaptic Defect - Punish Me
18 Ferrum Dei - Ascendency of the False Prophet
19 Stainless.4571 - Trip to Madness
20 Twz - the Grid
21 Schism Trace - the Failure
22 Brainclaw - Feed the Machine (Rmx)
23 Organic Cage - Programm Interrupt
24 Suburban Prototype - Luna (Wax Rmx)