Tuesday, October 20, 2020
«« »»
Artist: Endless Melancholy (@)
Title: A Perception of Everything
Format: CD + Download
Label: Sound In Silence (@)
Rated: *****
Endless Melancholy is the self-descriptive music act of Oleksiy Sakevych, based in Kyiv, Ukraine. Since 2011 he has released six albums, a remix album, a compilation and many singles and EPs on various small labels. He has worked on collaboration/split releases with artists such as Desolate Horizons, Lights Dim and Hotel Neon, is also member of the post-rock band Sleeping Bear and has released music under the aliases of Moonshine Blues and bc_ranger.

'A Perception Of Everything' is the seventh full-length album by Endless Melancholy and his first for Sound In Silence. Inspired by traveling and visiting new places. it is made of field recordings made using a microcassette tape recorder, tape loops and synth pads. The music is ultra-ambient with a musicality that works hand-in-glove with elongated synth pads and drones; little light melodic touches that enhance a superbly relaxing environment. One track blends seamlessly into another on this 9-track album for about 40 minutes. True to the project's name, there is a wistful melancholy about some of the pieces ("Immersion" in particular comes to mind), and perhaps a sadness brought about by the current state of isolation, as well as a longing for people, places and events you have experienced before. Yet there is a certain amount of comfort in it, as if being wrapped in a quilty cocoon. Although darkness threatens on the edge, 'A Perception of Everything' provides a safe space in which to just chill and be. Subconsciously, some of the field recordings employed by Sakevych will undoubtedly stir memories in most listeners that are sure to bring about an emotional response. I think this album may hold a different meaning for every listener. It is an extraordinary ambient work that will be an asset to any collection in the genre.

This is a limited edition of 200 handmade and hand-numbered collectible copies. It is packaged in a lovely hand-stamped ivory cardboard envelope with the front cover image printed on a polaroid style photo paper and an insert sheet containing tracklist and information printed on azure cardboard. It also comes bundled with a download code coupon and a Sound In Silence card.


< Previous Review | Next Review >