Wednesday, August 5, 2020
«« »»
Artist: VV.AA.
Title: The First Milestone
Format: Download Only (MP3 + Lossless)
Label: Infinite Depth
Dutch label Infinite Depth’s first compilation is an eight-pack of instrumental melodic progressive techno with a generally light edge. EarthLife’s “Senza Fine” sets the tone from the off, setting the listener up for a casual sonic journey rather than an adventure with its soft chords, gentle house beat and generally feel-good, dreamy vibe with more than a hint of old-school trance about it.

There’s a touch more aggression in the driving synthbass and teethier synth of Senses Of Mind’s “Polarized” or the more energetic percussion parts in Alberth’s “Ex Life” (with its very bold silent breakdown section), but the deviations from the casual vibe are rare and shortlived, and overall the cover artwork is generally darker than the music.

Some of it is so smooth that it borders on characterless, and so similar at times that it’s too easy to suspect that some of the eight artists here may be aliases for a single producer. But there are a few interesting moments, ranging from the almost kitchen organ riff in THC’s Moby-Go-Twin-Peaks-riffing “Antithetical” to the pitch-sliding melodic parts in Naji Arun’s “Serotonine”, that keep the inventiveness levels up.

If you’re looking for working music, walking music, and soft progressive techno journeys, this is a solid hour-long pack.


< Previous Review | Next Review >