The Horrors’ co-founder and synthesist, Tom Furse has announced that he will release a new album on esteemed UK independent Lo Recordings on the 23rd of October 2020.

‘Ecstatic Meditations’, the follow up to 2016’s acclaimed debut solo outing ‘Interludes’, features six beautifully crafted new tracks leading with an edit of the 20 minute album opener and lead track ‘Journey In Ecstasy’. An adventurous deep listening experience, the new collection was recorded, mixed and mastered by Furse at his electronic studio on the Margate coast.

Available digitally and on limited edition clear vinyl with artwork by Furse, the new long player sees him deliver a sonic tapestry of sound that takes inspiration from the likes of Alice Coltrane, Laraaji, Eno and Steve Reich together with a new found appreciation for Japanese environmental music composers such as Akira Ito and Yasauki Shizimu. The result is an intense yet playfully refreshing take on ambient and electronic music.

Furse further explains the recording concept:

“There was a certain kind of sound I was listening to that wasn’t always ambient but definitely had that quality about it and I just came to think of it as ’still music’ – music without much form, but deeply spiritual, abstract and expressionist. This album is an exploration of that idea.

This enjoyment of ‘still music’ also coincided with a meditative breakthrough where I began to visually witness the cloud of my own consciousness. This sound seemed to be quite analogous to what I was seeing – formless, infinite, unpredictable and hard to explain. What I ended up doing was taking that very abstract, barely explainable idea about the nature of myself and created an audible representation of it.

When used as an object of deep listening or of meditation, this album becomes transportive and experiential. Like the exotica of old, you can put it on and it will take you places, you can lose yourself in it. With the world as it is now, I think we could do with more beautiful things to escape into.”

Track Listing:

01. ‘Journey In Ecstasy’

02. ‘Kosmuro’

03. ‘Naivety (Snowing)’

04. ‘Still Music’

05. ‘Organ Meditation’

06. ‘Pacific Drifting’

‘Ecstatic Meditations’ is the latest in Lo Recordings’ ‘Spaciousness' series which aims to explore the connections, the overlaps, the roots and the future of a music variously referred to as ambient, deep listening, new age and even post classical.

To coincide with the release, Tom Furse will shortly announce details of a very special audio visual event to celebrate the launch in London during October.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here