Berlin and London based avant – pop duo Private Agenda will release new mini album ‘Submersion’ on Lo Recordings via digital platforms and limited edition cassette on the 21st of May 2021.

‘Submersion’ is a collection of re-compositions – a series of musical deep dives – by six of down tempo music’s most exciting emerging and established artists. It’s also a closing chapter to ‘Île de Rêve’, or an ‘island of dreams’ – the audio-visual project from which Private Agenda’s debut album first emerged, with each track a re-imagination of material from that record.

On ‘Île de Rêve’, the warm, yet beguiling allure of islands acted as a musical and visual reference for storytelling. Whilst that record was defined by a compositional minimalism, containing no featuring performances on it for instance, it was a project that was conceived as a conceptual canvas upon which other artists could draw.

Soon after the record’s release, the pair began to receive reflections of material from the record – reworks of parts of tracks, lists of emotive words and sketches from close contemporaries and regular collaborators.

As Private Agenda explain – “we started to receive these remarkable echoes of the album sent back to us, these interpretations of the material that were both rooted in the conceptual world we’d tried to create, but of a new world entirely as well. ‘Submersion’ is just a selection of some of these echoes. As a collection it feels like both a farewell to a particular project but it also something entirely new”.

‘Submersion’ sees the idea of depth, immersion and the detailed layering of sound define these sonic explorations. Opening the collection are two London-based producers who feature as part of Lo Recordings’ ongoing ‘Spaciousness’ project. Coral Sea’s take on ‘Bounty’ is the sound of vast, engulfing waves; JQ’s Underwater Mix of ‘Sea Life’ is a beautifully melancholy reworking of the original, both captivating and compact. Downtempo duo Delac channel a lo-fi RnB sensibility on their rework of ‘Solitude’ before the psychedelic swoop of ‘Malanai Ascending’ from Seahawks which will be shared as the lead single on the 30th of April 2021.

Experimental two-piece Delmer Darion follow with a detailed deconstruction of ‘Dependency’, showcasing shades of a production style which made their own debut album one of 2020’s most intriguing and complete records on which Private Agenda themselves collaborated. To complete and close the collection, Lo Recordings’ musical and spiritual guide, Ocean Moon (aka Jon Tye) reworks ‘P.S.R’ (or Point of Safe Return) – itself the closing track from their debut album – which drifts delicately into the deepest blue.

Mini Album Track Listing

01. ‘Bounty’ (Coral Sea Rework)

02. ‘Sea Life’ (JQ's Underwater Rework)

03. ‘Solitude’ (Delac Rework)

04. ‘Malanai Ascending (Seahawks Rework)

05. ‘Dependency’ (Delmer Darion Rework)

06. ‘P.S.R’ (Ocean Moon Rework)

Private Agenda is the enduringly eclectic avant-pop project of Sean Phillips and Martin Aggrowe. Based between London and Berlin, the pair have crafted their alluring and versatile sound mixing their ways of working together – which are often asynchronous as well as intimate – with a broad musical palette which touches upon disco, house and new wave as well as downtempo and ambient. Whilst a single genre doesn’t neatly capture the diversity of their work, it’s a conceptual clarity behind each release and a collaborative impulse which defines their discography.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here