"Larva Lumps" 2CD and digital versions available August 26, 2LP on September 23 via Artoffact Records

Toronto, Canada–

The longstanding and prolific experimentalist project, Controlled Bleeding, will return with its first proper studio album since 2002, entitled Larva Lumps and Baby Bumps, this month on Artoffact Records. Today, the band has teamed up with Premier Guitar to launch two Larva Lumps guitar playthrough videos for the tracks "Driving Through Darkness" and "The Perks of Being a Perv." Stream the clips exclusively at: http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/24586-controlled-bleeding-the-perks-of-being-a-perv-video-premiere.

An eclectic mix of industrial, progressive rock, jazz and heavy metal influences, Larva Lumps and Baby Bumps will be released as a 2CD digipak and digital download on August 26, with a 2LP edition, housed in a beautiful gatefold, to be released on September 23. Pre-order Larva Lumps and Baby Bumps via Bandcamp at:

Controlled Bleeding co-founder Paul Lemos recently sat down with the Wall Street Journal to discuss the new studio effort. Check out the article online at:




Disc 1:

1) Driving Through Darkness

2) Carving Song

3) Trawler's Return

4) As Evening Fades

5) The Perks of Being a Perv (Parts 1-4)


Disc 2:

1) Return of the Quiet

2) Fusion Song

3) Swarm

4) Garage Dub

5) Trawler's Song

6) Eye of Needle

7) Trang's Song 

Larva Lumps is a startling record: it somehow flawlessly mixes industrial noise and prog rock into a beautifully stream-of-conscious work that is at once fairly brutal and lovingly serene.

Unlike a lot of Controlled Bleeding's more recent outputs,  Larva Lumps is a unified set of five pieces. Both the vinyl and CD versions come with an additional album of bonus material consisting of driving instrumental pieces the band recorded live with famed producer Martin Bisi (Swans, White Zombie, Sonic Youth) at his Brooklyn, N.Y. studio one hot August day in 2012.


The cover paintings come courtesy of artist Gregory Jacobsen.



Larva Lumps and Baby Bumps at Bandcamp.


Controlled Bleeding is an experimental music group based in Long Island, New York. The group was founded by Paul Lemos, the group's only consistent member. Most of Controlled Bleeding's released recordings feature two main collaborators, Chris Moriarty and vocalist Joe Papa, who both passed away in the late 2000s. 

Since their first full-length release, Knees and Bones, in 1985, Controlled Bleeding have released a number of albums spanning several different genres, many of which were released on notable independent labels. Their cross-genre approach combined with the out-of-print status of many of the group's early releases is reminiscent of the work of other experimental and cross-genre groups of the 80s and 90s such as Coil and Swans. But Controlled Bleeding continues today, creating strange new works, perhaps the most challenging of their long career.


Paul Lemos – guitar

Mike Bazini – programming

Tony Meola – drums

Chvad SB – programming


Leave a Reply