MW050 Blancmange – Irene & Mavis 10″

A 10” reissue of Blancmange’s seminal debut EP Irene & Mavis. Formed in the UK by Neil Arthur and Stephen Luscombe, Blancmange recorded the six songs on Irene & Mavis in 1979 and released it as a 7” EP in 1980. Irene & Mavis, though not exactly representative of what Blancmange later went on to become, is a fascinating relic that captures the gestation period of the duo, fresh out of art school and keen to experiment. The D.I.Y. sound of the EP fits right in there with the early output of Soft Cell, the Human League, and Cabaret Voltaire; but what separates it from those like-minded releases of the time is that its even more distinctly English. In fact it was Daniel Miller, supporter and Mute boss himself who first recognized this when he proclaimed them “the maiden aunts of electronic music”. The Irene & Mavis EP is simultaneously pioneering, provincial, and surreal in its down-to-earth playfulness and lack of artifice. It stands out as an important record, capturing the mundane with modern electronics and remains as an artifact representative of the band before they went on to reach pop chart success. The Irene & Mavis EP has been newly remastered and is out now as a numbered limited edition 10” EP. A digital release will follow. Purchase the 10″ vinyl here, $16. Sound samples linked below.
1. Disco-A-Bomb-Bomb
2. Holiday Camp
3. Overspreading Art Genius
4. Concentration Baby
5. Just Another Spectre
6. Modichy In Aneration

MW049 In Aeternam Vale – Machine à Laver / Ultrabase 12″

Minimal Wave is proud to present a third 12” single from our French favorites, In Aeternam Vale. This one is in the same vein as the Dust Under Brightness / Highway Dark Veins 12” and the La Piscine / Calling Somewhere 12”. The single features two more epic, pioneering masterpieces. Machine à Laver (Washing Machine) sounding much like its title, is 12 minutes of pure electronic hypnotica. And the flip side is a more straightforward 127 bpm 11 minute number entitled Ultrabase – which is an unashamed slab of innovative dub techno from 1990, existing completely outside of its genre. Neither of these tracks have ever been released before. The pressing is limited to 999 copies, all pressed on 160 gram clear electric blue vinyl, accompanied by a hand-numbered matte printed sleeve. Out now, purchase here, $16.
1. Machine à Laver
2. Ultrabase

MW048 Five Times Of Dust – Smile With The Eyes 2LP

We’re happy to present Smile With The Eyes: a double LP of selections of unreleased material from the prolific outsider duo Five Times Of Dust. Formed in 1980 in Bristol, Mark Phillips (MAP) and Robert Lawrence came together with a shared passion for Krautrock, Industrial Electronics and the burgeoning DIY tape scene, as well as being influence by the Dadaist movement and the works of Burroughs and Ballard. Unconventional, quirky and at times melancholic and romantic, their music acted as the perfect escape from the urban decay of early 80s Bristol and Cardiff, the two cities they travelled between on weekends to record. Although unashamedly electronic, the sound of Five Time Of Dust is far harder to pin down, perhaps in part due to their location. Both Phillips and Lawrence produced music that owed little to any scene happening in London, Manchester or Sheffield at the time. As a result, the majority of their output are perfectly formed electronic curiosities. The material on Smile With The Eyes spans recordings Lawrence and Phillips made between 1982-1986. As a follow up to The Dadacomputer, their debut cassette release as a duo which we reissued earlier this year, Smile With The Eyes remains lo-fi but is musically more complex. The recordings are catchy, curious and emotionally rich. Whereas The Dadacomputer could be compared with the early output of Robert Rental, Smile With The Eyes is a collection of works that stands all on its own. The release is a double LP pressed on 180 gram black vinyl and housed in a heavyweight gatefold sleeve. Limited edition to 500 numbered copies. Purchase here, $32.
1. Smile With The Eyes
2. Advertising Space
3. Sayonara
4. I Want Straight Sex
5. The Single Off The Album
6. Plastische Taschen
7. Ethnic Bomb
8. Estate Children
9. Insect Charge
10. Technology
11. Megamix
12. The Mainframe
13. Riding To Heaven
14. Covered In Dust

Nuit Noire V

Thanks to everyone who came out to both the Nuit Noire (LA) and Surface Tension (SF) parties. Nuit Noire turned out to be an especially memorable night. In Aeternam Vale, Streetwalker, and Sandra Electronics all played fantastic live sets. DJ sets by Silent Servant, Veronica Vasicka and Regis captivated the crowd for the rest of the night. Photos of the event are here. Further coverage coming soon via Mount Analog. Stream the video of Sandra Electronics here.

DJ gigs / LIVE

Nov 22nd in Cleveland, Ohio > Veronica Vasicka w/ Regis, Talker / Stave, Prostitutes at Kallocain
Nov 29th in NL > Das Ding side project Schedelvreter at Hundebiss Records Night
Dec 14th in Ixtapa – Zihuatanejo, Mexico > Veronica Vasicka w/ Ewan Pearson, Kid606 at Zanka Fest
Dec 28th in Amsterdam, NL > Veronica Vasicka w/ Orgue Electronique, Interstellar Funk at Doka Club

Minimal Wave on BBC Radio 1

“NYC’s Minimal Wave gets the label profile treatment. Label owner, Veronica Vasicka, is in the studio with a stack of strange and wonderful music.” Stream a clip of the archived audio from Veronica’s visit to Benji B’s show on BBC Radio 1, featuring Das Ding, Sympathy NervousIn Aeternam ValeOppenheimer Analysis, DZ Lectric & Anthon ShieldFurther Reductions, Soma Holiday, AN-i, Streetwalker, hard CORPS, and Blancmange.

Also stream the Minimal Wave radio show with Veronica Vasicka live on East Village Radio every Sunday from 6-8PM ET, or listen to the archives anytime with EVR’s player or mobile app. Check tonights (November 15th) show archive for part two of the special with Karl O’Connor from Downwards Records.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here