Kælan Mikla 4th album pre-order


KÆLAN MIKLA: Artoffact Records launches pre-order for Icelandic synth-punks’ fourth album, Undir Köldum Norðumljósum; Alcest makes guest appearance Artoffact Records has launched pre-orders for Undir Köldum Norðumljósum, the fourth album by Icelandic band Kælan Mikla.  Pre-order the album (and stream the album’s first two singles) here: https://kaelanmikla.bandcamp.com/
Bursting with the raw punk spirit and whimsical Icelandic visions which have fueled Kælan Mikla from the very start, Undir Köldum Norðumljósum takes the band’s unmistakable sound and presents it in a manner even more lush and engrossing than before. Cinematic layers of synth, ethereal vocals sung in their native tongue, spine-chilling screams, driving bass and programmed drums combine to pull the listener deeper than ever into Kælan Mikla’s world — a place of folklore and fairytales, magic and mysticism. As Revolver Magazine put it: “Theirs is a world where sweeping eerie soundscapes, irresistible post-punk hooks and dance beats couple with angelic voices and blood-curdling shrieks.” Undir Köldum Norðumljósum features a guest appearance by Alcest, with whom Kælan Mikla toured Europe in early 2020. Two singles have been released from the album so far in 2021 — “Sólstöður” and “Ósýnileg” — the latter of which was premiered as part of Adult Swim’s prestigious Singles series. The album artwork was created by graphic design duo Førtifem, known for their covers, posters, and merch for artists such as Emperor, Slipknot, Rammstein, and Carpenter Brut.
Kælan Mikla was founded in 2013 as part of a poetry contest hosted by the Reykjavik Library. In 2015, the song “Kalt” was released and attracted attention abroad. From there, the band steadily ascended, releasing three LPs (all available via Artoffact Records) and touring heavily with the likes of King Dude and Drab Majesty and as headliners in their own right. Kælan Mikla was hand-picked by avid fan Robert Smith of The Cure, to play The Cure’s 40th anniversary show, and has slain audiences at festivals such as Iceland Airwaves, Pasadena Daydream, and Roadburn. In 2018, the band’s third album, Nótt eftir nótt, won Album of the Year at the prestigious Kraumur Awards in Iceland and landed on year-end lists in magazines and blogs worldwide. The upcoming fourth album, Undir köldum norðumljósum, is set for an October 15th release on Artoffact.
Tracklist: 1) Svört Augu 2) Sólstöður 3) Örlögin 4) Halastjarnan 5) Ósýnileg 6) Sírenur 7) Stormurinn 8) Óskasteinar 9) Hvítir Sandar (feat. Alcest) 10) Saman
Lineup: Laufey Soffía Þórsdóttir – vocals Margrét Rósa Dóru-Harrysdóttir – bass Sólveig Matthildur Kristjánsdóttir – synth, vocals
Discography: Undir Köldum Norðumljósum (2021, Artoffact Records) Nótt eftir nótt (2018, Artoffact Records) Mánadans (2018, Artoffact Records) Kælan Mikla (2016, Artoffact Records)
KÆLAN MIKLA: Bandcamp / FacebookSpotify ARTOFFACT:  Bandcamp / Facebook


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here