Out on HANDS April:

Dirty K                         Torrent of Fury                         cd
HANDS D173                      Hands Paper Pack                                13 euro

Dirty K are a thoroughbred Rhythm’n’Noise act based in Leicester (UK) and is one of the latest signing on HANDS. “Torrent of Fury” is surely an eponymous title, because that’s just what this album is: An unsettling intro, followed by 11 tracks of sheer, unadulterated distorted rhythm power. The band want to explicate a personal take on a post apocalyptic theme based on a vivid dream, incorporating dark and dirty landscapes and buildings.
The album is meant to portray a sense of confusion and what it would be like in our to wake up scared and see that is all that is left.

Most tracks have a similar structure with an irritating, brooding intro building into rhythmic frenzy in no time. Thankfully, Dirty K never forget to put in the occasional break, short interlude or vocal sample to keep the listener’s attention and give the whole album a very dynamic pace.

Of course, lots of DJ food is to be found here, depending on what specific style you’re after: If you want hypnotic midtempo Rhythm’n’Noise, you can’t go wrong with the irresistable dancefloor weapon “Smog Blanket” for example.

If you’re after more defined bassdrum sounds in an Industrial Hardcore style, opt for the title track or maybe “Frequent Thoughts Of Violence”, and if your desire might be pure noise turmoil, a track like “Cataclysm” should make your day.

On first listen, “Torrent Of Fury” appears as a monolith of fierce sounds and beats, on second listen you find lots of variation and detail. May you enjoy this rich and remarkable debut from the UK – and may God save the queen from Dirty K’s apocalyptic visions!

01. Alone                               02. Maschine Music
03. Broken Storm [End]          04. Cataclysm
05. Disturbing Thoughts         06. Nightmares Of A Tormented Mind
07. Something Dark                      08. Smog Blanket (Torrent Version)
09. Scattered Elements          10. Torrent Of Fury
11. Frequent Thoughts Of Violence       12. Gutterpump

Out on HANDS April:

SaturmZlide                     Bevor                                           cd
HANDS D172                      Hands Paper Pack                                13 euro

“BeVor” is German for “before” – but just what does that mean in respect to this album? In some ways, this CD is rather an “after” – Hamburg’s Alexander Marco finally releases a  full SaturmZlide album, after nearly two decades of musical activities in various bands, genres and styles, and after a well-received CD-R on Fich-Art in 2009.

Anyways, Alex is an atypical musician, following a late vocation to the call of Industrial and Rhythm’n’Noise, who brings along the experience of his past musical endeavours – and lets them shine through in his compositions.
“Bevor” is a somewhat enigmatic crossbreed of musical currents that make for a strong blend. The overall essence is the rhythm, no doubt about that, punchy and groove-infected, making this album a tight-knit unit despite the many different ideas which have been put into practice.

So, let’s roll with it: “Rainlands” is a moody intro with tribal downbeats and a steady build-up. Then starts the Rhythm Noise section of the album with the club recommendation “El Door Rado Rmx” – a relentless noise groove and a commanding vocal sample do the job proper! “Power Plant” and “Interceptor” combine distorted rhythms with strong atmospheric breaks, while inbetween those “Bionic Ocean I” surprises with it’s beatless, experimental atmosphere.

“Girl Under Glas” then adopts a different line:  Hard beats with a broken edge  and full-on modern electronica sounds, an update of the style you shouldn’t call IDM. “World Time Crash” and “Half Of the Planet” appear in similar shape with the beats more on the straight side though.

The album then closes with a magnum opus, a nearly 25 minute suite in seven movements entitled “The Sky” that revisits all the styles and elements from the album and melts them with new ideas even more out of bounds, with a psychedelic atmosphere being the foundation stone upon which this monumental composition is erected. It starts with a straight rhythm track, plunges into atmospheric sounds; and then come in some guests: The 3rd part (“Drifting”) features the guitar playing of some Andreas Hellriegel, giving it a prog rock flavour, while the 4th part (“Timerider”) is a bouncing rhythm track, featuring Industrial veteran Philipp Münch. The following parts slow down considerably, preparing the listener to bid farewell to this musical trip.

So, “BeVor”, before what? You get the strong impression, and you may well hope, this “before” is the first step before a lot more to come – quality always comes out on top, and this debut (if you may call it that) is surely a top pick!


1.Rainlands                     1.1.Merkabame Phase 1
1.2.Rain                        2.El Door Rado RMX
3.Powerplant                    4.Bionic Ocean I (Blue Engines)
5.Interceptor                   6.Girl Under Glas
7.World Time Crash              8.Half Of The Planet (Spiritual Mix)
9.The Sky                       9.1.Illusion
9.2.Merkabame Phase 2           9.3.Drifting
9.4.Timerider                   9.5.Merkabame  Phase 3
9.6.Illusion:Coda               9.7.Merkabame Phase 4


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here