Music Reviews

Play: Red Movies

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Synth Pop / Electro Pop / Synth-Electronica
Dark / Gothic / Wave / New Wave / Dark Wave / Industrial Gothic
 Edit (7817)
Sep 26 2013
Artist: Play
Title: Red Movies
Format: 12"
Label: Medical Records
Rated: *****
Play was a band formed by Wayne Kennedy and David Rome. They recorded only few singles in 1982/1983 for Survival Records, label which started in 1980 specialising their catalog in electronic dance music (Drinking Electricity, Hard Corps, and Richard Bone) and charting with Tik And Tok. In the mid eighties they moved toward rock music finding success with The Quireboys and then in 1990 they signed the Celtic band Capercaillie and have been working with them both as a band and with their individual careers ever since. David Rome previously had worked with the recently passed Martin Lloyd in the group Analysis (later evolved into Oppenheimer Analysis) as well as was the founding member of Drinking Electricity (also reissued on Medical Records) along with Anne-Marie Heighway. Medical Records is reissuing their compilation "Red Movies", which has been originally released in 1985 and which gathered most of their singles plus two extra tracks (the 12"s version of "You Don't Look The Same" and "In My Mind"). The music of the duo was a perfect blend of new wave with electronic inserts (synths and drum machine) and to me they recall a bit some atmospheres of the best Comsat Angels tracks mixed with the new romantic touch of Midge Ure's Ultravox (check "Chasing The Sun"). Songs like "You Don't Look The Same" are just perfect with their melodic lines and their being in balance from pop catchiness and dark atmospheres. This reissue comes in 'half and half' 180gr colored vinyl (blue and red). Check all the tracks here and purchase your copy!

Ten Kens: Namesake

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Dark / Gothic / Wave / New Wave / Dark Wave / Industrial Gothic
 Edit (7795)
Sep 09 2013
Artist: Ten Kens (@)
Title: Namesake
Format: CD
Label: self-released
Rated: *****
Coming from Toronto, Canada, Ten Kens self release their third full length titled "Namesake". Already released as digital download the last year, the album finally has an extended physical release edition with four bonus tracks coming from the same recording sessions. Now containing fourteen tracks, "Namesake" is a powerful dark psychedelic noise rock voyage recorded, produced and engineered by Ten Kens' own Brett Paulin and Dan Workman. Born from a period of isolation, the album sounds obscure and inspired. Check the way the songs evolve turning from dark folk ballads to psychedelic noise monsters where out of control distorted guitars bleed their chords on heavy drumming and distant chants. Sounding like a pagan ritual, tracks like "Bliss"or the hypnotic obsessive "Gently Used" will sure catch you like a spider's web catch a fly. Having shared stages with such bands as A Place To Bury Strangers, No Age, Deerhoof, The Joy Formidable and Surfer Blood, Ten Kens are ready to start their to widen their US and European tours. If you love bands like Codeine or late Slint be sure to check them!

Veil of Light: s/t

 Posted by eskaton   Dark / Gothic / Wave / New Wave / Dark Wave / Industrial Gothic
 Edit (7763)
Aug 25 2013
Artist: Veil of Light
Title: s/t
Format: Tape
Label: Bel├Ąten (@)
Rated: *****
Veil of Light is a one man band out of Zurich, Switzerland. The label describes this album as 'ice cold gothgaze splendour drenched in reverb and distortion,' comparing it to Cure, Jesus and Mary Chain, and early Death in June. For once this description holds up. This is fantastic old school dark music that would be right at home on the late 1980s 4AD label roster. Kind of reminds me of a more brooding Clan of Xymox, only more gritty and heavy. Can definitely hear the old Cure influences as well. Highly recommended. I only wish that it was longer. This album weighs in at 22 minutes.

Miss FD: Comfort For The Desolate

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Electronics / EBM / Electronica
Dark / Gothic / Wave / New Wave / Dark Wave / Industrial Gothic
 Edit (7747)
Aug 20 2013
Artist: Miss FD
Title: Comfort For The Desolate
Format: CD
Label: Quantum Release
Rated: *****
Miss FD is back and two years after "Love Never Dies", "Comfort For The Desolate" seems to be lyrically the natural continuation to that album. This new CD always produced for her own Quantum Release Records, contains seven new tracks which spans from dark electronic ballads (check the opening "Never Felt Better", "Incompleteness" or the closing "The Grand Version" where piano and strings give the right atmosphere to the sense of loss and suspension) and electro pop songs where 4/4 powerful beats meets digital synth leads and pads and bouncing synth bass lines. On tracks like "Wanting Is Not Enough" or "Lover Of Fate" I imagine her like a sort of dark Kylie Minogue because of her sensual way of singing and because of her way to use the choruses. The tracks that remember me the most the old albums are "Dissolve" (a mid tempo with catchy melodies but with an overall dark atmosphere) and "Consciousness Of Awe" (a song which changes its skin as at first it's a sort of electro goth ballad and then it turns into something more dancey thanks to the introduction of upbeat rhythms). In my opinion, with this album, Miss FD wanted to redefine her style and at a first listening everything isn't falling into the right place. Only after some other spin, the album starts to show its potential. Anyway, you can make your own idea by checking all the songs here

Veil Of Light: Veil Of Light

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Dark / Gothic / Wave / New Wave / Dark Wave / Industrial Gothic
 Edit (7708)
Aug 01 2013
image not
Artist: Veil Of Light
Title: Veil Of Light
Format: Tape
Label: Belaten (@)
Rated: *****
Most of the people who has releases out on Belaten are quite mysterious and usually give very few informations about themselves and Veil Of Light is one of them: the only thing I know is that it is a one man project from Zurich, Switzerland. Taking its name by the Sufist concept that the idea that someone can be so convinced of their own inherent goodness they believe they're entitled to do and get away with anything simply because of their good intentions (as wrote on, Veil Of Light on their debut tape are releasing six tracks that mix new wave, shoegaze noisy guitarism (check the guitar feedback which reaches almost the pink noise form) and goth. Sometimes it recalls me the Soft Moon (but a bit less catchy to my ears) for the use of unintelligible vocals and for the overall atmospheres. Guitar arpeggios, synth pads used here and there, obsessive bass lines are the main elements that will make feel like home to the lovers of nowadays cold wave sound. Check it here

Search All Reviews:
[ Advanced Search ]

Chain D.L.K. design by Marc Urselli
Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha