Music Reviews

IN A SENSE: Seclusion

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Electronics / EBM / Electronica
Synth Pop / Electro Pop / Synth-Electronica
 Edit (2523)
Feb 16 2006
Artist: IN A SENSE
Title: Seclusion
Format: CD
Rated: *****

BUY from  BUY NOW from CD BABY (
In A Sense is the new project of John Sepulveda (do you remember his previous one called Matrix?) and Steve Ferraro. The fifteen tracks of their debut album SECLUSION ideally continue the musical approach of the early Matrix stuff keeping the synthpop elements and adding to them a certain European e.b.m. flavour. Each track contains something valuable that with a better production (I don't know why, but the sound it isn't explosive even if if it is pumping out of my speakers) could find a wider audience. On the album there are also the three tracks of the demo that I reviewed a couple of years ago ("Passion In Your Eyes", "Beautiful Girl" and "Will You Be There Sometimes") which are in my opinion their best ones because they gather good melodies, a driving rhythm and simple but catchy melodies. Unfortunately the sound production sometimes make sound Steve's vocals similar on each track and this is a pity because the band has a good sense of melody and the songs could be good dancefloors hits. The CD contains also four remixes: "Why - Tragic mix by Matrix" (similar to the original version but without the rhythmic section), "Passion is your eyes - Virtual Vamp remix by Chinese Theatre" (they changed a slightly the sound giving to the song a robotic sound), "Ultimate sacrifice - GASR remix" (now it sound more e.b.m. than the original version) and "Passion in your eyes - Wave in the head remix" (the remix sound more dreamy and eb.m.).


 Posted by Marc Tater (@)   Electronics / EBM / Electronica
 Edit (2519)
Feb 15 2006
Artist: IONIC VISION (@)
Title: Actual
Format: CD
Label: Machineries Of Joy/COP Int.
Distributor: Alive!
Rated: *****
Belgium hard hitters No. 1 strike straight and steady back! Again released under their very own sublabel Machineries Of Joy, a COP side-label, they present us here their officially 9th release. And I can say it in advance, there are not to many changes in the music of Sven Lauwers and Andy De Decker. They still spread out their vision of Neo Body Music, how they do call it. For the very few of you who haven’t heard anything from this duo in the past 14 years, they are one of these old school EBM bands mainly influenced by classic and veteran acts like NITZER EBB, old POUPPEE FABRIKK or PARANOID. Hard ripping bass lines, combined with a steady kick and snare work and a male shouter following the "muscle-hate-machine" theme – currently this old formula receives a lot of success and attention, especially with a look on both acts recording for the Out Of Line label, SPETSNAZ and PROCEED. IONIC VISION in between set the measuring lath of quality on a very high level. "Actual" is for sure their best piece so far and I don’t say this because it is the newest. A lot of people still have their official full length debut "Rage Against The Acoustic" released back in 1996 on Celtic Circle Productions in a good memory. "Actual" is against to this classic the perfect combination between the old roots with the modern technically possibilities of today - from the first to the last track here is no real filler. IONIC VISION have reached the top of what is possible with this kind of music – thanks also to the excellent studio work of the hidden third member of the band, brother Louis Z. So you’ll get here the full dose of 100 % EBM music inspired by the veterans of this genre. It is impossible to sit still with this music – get it!

PRIDE AND FALL: Elements Of Silence

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Electronics / EBM / Electronica
 Edit (2518)
Feb 14 2006