Music Reviews

Title: translation as rhythm
Format: CD
Label: Errant Bodies (@)
Rated: *****
Remember, when we deal with Errant Bodies' releases you've always to take for granted we're dealing with unconventional objects in the most noble sense of its meaning. Right lately I've read that great book + cd they did on Christof Migone's works, but Labelle gives another audio exhibit confirming the initial statement I've written makes sense. Jarrod Fowler's work is "rhythmical", yes, that's something you can ear with your own hear as you will play these rhythm borne out of digital skip like in the first and in the fifth tracks, after that this audio "experience" features parts of synthesized vocals dealing with the subjects of the tracks the composer has performed (tracks two and four). Oh sure, there's also your beloved white noise and you can also find the "dear old" field recordings, but the fact is that's a real pain in the ass to review the "music" of a record where the booklet and the concept are indivisible from the "musical" (in the most abstract but at the same time most "real" sense) content. For those who have not understood it yet: this cd is based on studies, thus I think you/we've to view it as a performance or sorry for the repetition: a study. Being the mind-tripper-frigid-nerd I'm, I've found it a pleasant listening/reading since I've happened a few times to read/hear text files translated into audio files, and with references like Cage, Satie, Platone it's easy to be saduced by the concept, you know...The fact is this cd like many other listenings like it goes beyond simple criticism and apart from the performative judgment every other aesthetical consideration becomes useless and above al subjective.
image not
Artist: BORIS HAUF (@)
Title: Clark
Format: CD
Label: Sijis (@)
Rated: *****
Minimal and elegant electronic music for Boris Hauf, nothing more that that, everything is quasi essential during the listening. The sound choice is accurate and the mastering done by Todd Carter in Chicago pushes everything at the right place. I think if poor Satie is still wandering up there teaching somebody the discipline of "un-expressivity": down here Boris Hauf shows the lesson has been learnt by heart. This music is a skinny blend between danceable beats and "wide-range" electronics, I think if I'll say idm the most of you may visualize something melodically oriented but that's not the case. As I was saying "clark" is not melodic at all and sails much more in a pool where soft noises, bleeps and beats are the water. If you give a check to Hauf's discography you'll discover he's a "restless child" but if sound quality and song assembling in electronic music does still make sense...all of this hyperactivity brought "ability". "Le chien" is probably the only pure fragment of minimal techno kicking inside this record but somehow the whole "portrait is evolved around this same figurative thought", you will have an hard time finding dance clubs where you can move your feet to songs like "ken doll in the wind" or "she was a state trooper". Lately I got the idea many electronic musician are fusing more and more that genre with post-industrial moods (c’mon, the succes of Pan Sonic disclosed a whole world of possibilities), maybe that's the wrong impression but with weird "objects" like Hauf it’s hard to believe that’s the wrong one.

SBASSSHIP: Encryption

 Posted by Maurizio Pustianaz (@)   Electronics / EBM / Electronica
Synth Pop / Electro Pop / Synth-Electronica
 Edit (2620)
Mar 28 2006