Music Reviews

Artist: VV.AA.
Title: Music for Personality Disorder
Format: CD
Label: Beta-lactam Ring Records (@)
This is simply a label sampler, but with a nice twist. You can get it from Beta-lactam Ring Records for one cent. I will refrain from doing too much with the individual tracks because all except one of the Earthmonkey tracks have already been released and several of these albums have been likely already been reviewed in Chain DLK. I have personally reviewed the discs of Aidan Baker, Sand Snowman, and Seven That Spells ' all of which were quite good. If you are interested in Beta-lactam Ring Records and want to get a taste of what they have been putting out, this is a very good opportunity to find out. If nothing else, you certainly get your money's worth. This sampler weighs in at about 79 minutes.

Here is the tracklisting:

1. Sand Snowman 'Hemlock Garden' from Nostalgia Ever After
2. Pepe Wismeer 'A Lie In Heckleness' Between Sheep & Pigs
3. Aidan Baker 'Feed Me Yr Kiss' Songs Of Flowers & Skin
4. Earthmonkey 'New Cheese' from Alms of Morpheus
5. Edward Ka-Spel 'The Beast With Six Fingers (edit)' from The Minus Touch
6. Sand Snowman 'Wide Awake' from Sleepers Hide and Seek
7. Pepe Wismeer 'Devilame (edit)' from Between Sheep & Pigs
8. Edward Ka-Spel 'Lines (edit)' from Chyekk, China Doll
9. Earthmonkey 'Ahmet Another' unreleased track from Alms of Morpheus sessions
10. Seven That Spells 'Terminus Est' from Future Retro Spasm
11. Ilitch 'La Quantique des Cantiques' from La Maïeutique de la Quantique
12. Nadja 'Skywriting (edit)' from Transmit Acoustique Abstraction One
13. Expo '70 'The Gathering' from Sonic Messenger
14. The Silverman 'This Side Of The Door (edit)' from Time On Thin Ice
15. Tecumseh 'Apophis (edit)' from Return To Everything
16. Else Teicher 'Near Dead Pachycephalosaurid on I-75 (edit)' from Whored
Artist: Kruno Jošt and Gijs Borstlap
Title: Quasi Quasi
Format: CD
Label: Narrominded (@)
Rated: *****
As is often the case when I get a package to review for ChainDLK, I had not heard of these artists. Here's what Borstlap had to say about the disc: 'In Quasi Quasi we slowly build something through improvisation, but then we let that building collapse and start to build again on its remains. And so on. In this project we can experiment and improvise without boundaries and without resorting to traditional modes of rock and jazz.' Fair enough. This disc is all over the place while still remaining rooted in the idea that music should not only be constructed, but deconstructed. The first three tracks throw down some nice guitar noise while still remaining listenable and engaging. 'Sensitive Sayings' and 'There Is No Obstacles,' on the other hand, are a bit more minimalist providing a nice counterpoint to the earlier tracks. 'Boat to Bristol' changes it up bringing in a pulsing, pounding wall of sawtooth waves. Overall, the disc shifts back and forth between noise and almost peaceful guitars ('Why Not Doing it Again'). If you are looking for guitar improvisation that doesn't quite cross the line into straight noise, this would be up your alley. I would definitely recommend this for fans of Nels Cline and the like. At any rate, you can download it for free at the label's website, so it is certainly worth checking out if all of this sounds even remotely interesting. This disc weighs in at around 36 minutes.
Artist: Ernesto Diaz-Infante, Manuel Mota, Gino Robair & Ernesto Rodrigues
Title: Our Faceless Empire
Format: CD
Label: Pax Recordings (@)
Rated: *****
Out of all of these artists, the only one I had heard of was Ernesto Diaz-Infante, but you never quite know what you will get, as he tends to vary his approach. But you know it's going to be an interesting ride when one of the artists, Gino Robair, is credited with the instrument 'Energized Surfaces / Voltage Made Audible.' The others are credited with steel string acoustic guitar (Diaz-Infante), electric guitar (Mota), and viola (Rodrigues). Put it all together and you have an interesting improvisation-fest. At times it is minimalist, at times it is noisy, and at times it is reminiscent of Cage's experiments with treated piano, but for the most part this is engaging, interesting stuff. Maybe it's me, but I got a whimsical sense in the music. The only drawback is that at times it seemed to blend together and become a bit repetitive. I get the sense that it would have been a lot of fun to watch these improvisations live. This disc weighs in at around 49 minutes.
Title: Tunnels > Interstate > Perimeter
Format: Download Only (MP3 + Lossless)
Label: Basserk (@)
Rated: *****
Active since late 90s with an album on their back released in 2002 and different EPs, Quick & Brite are back on Basserk with a new EP titled TUNNELS > INTERSTATE > PERIMETER. The release contains one nineteen minutes long track titled "Nightdriver" plus three remixes of the three different parts which make the original tune, reworked by Tanzkonsol, Deadbotsa and Endorphins. "Nightdriver" is a dance techno tune that sounds mixed live and which you'll love dancing with. It gave me the feeling of an Orb track remixed by Chemical Brothers with those dreamy sounds and hard beats. It sure fits its title. Tanzkonsol, instead, decided to go for a powerful synth robotic 4/4 approach with dance industrial feelings. Deadbots opted for a pistolpop remix with in levare mid tempos, distorted bass lines and epic melodies. Endorphin slowed down the tempo and made a great two step grime remix with cool ambient inserts. Check out this release, it deserve it.