Music Reviews

Artist: Sade
Title: Life Promise Pride Love
Format: DVD
Label: Epic
Distributor: Amazon
Rated: *****
There's not one black woman in the world who can sing like Sade. Not ever! Sade (born Helen Folasade Adu) and her band (aka Sweetback) made their way in the music scene in 1984. Sade has sold over millions of records internationally worldwide. She is all about being herself and once said in an interview that she doesn't consider herself a role model. Her songs talks about love, life, sadness, pain, and everything in general. These promo video collections match-up to the songs to provide the audience a storytelling sequence. The directors of Sade videos have put alot of energy to shoot and polish the films with sophistication, the beautiful background tapestry, scenery, and images. Sade and her band look marvelous on film. They may not have played a part of being in the new wave/new romantic scene in the 80's, but their good looks and fashionable clothes definitely is suitable to fit their personality and music. Sade and her band's music is indeed for multi-racial, multi-culture. Not pop, r&b, jazz, and so on. There are 14 retro 80's and early 90's classy videos by this silky smooth angelic Nigerian and British female singer. Video includes "Your Love Is King", "Hang On To Your Love", "Never As Good As The First Time", "Paradise", "Turn My Back", which was shot in sin city Las Vegas, "No Ordinary Love" and "Cherish The Day" ended up in video rotation on VH1, "Sweetest Taboo" and "Is It A Crime" both are sequels. And who can ever forget that catchy jazzy tune "Smooth Operator" that is directed by Julian Temple who also directed Depeche Mode "See You" and David Bowie "Day In-Day Out". "Smooth Operator" ended up in video rotation on MTV back in the 80's. The video on dvd is an extended version that was never shown. The extended version is violent that shows a scene Sade's manager tries to choke her by the neck on the fire escape stairway. The police and detectives arrives on the scene and the manager leaves Sade to make his escape and by leaping on top to another building. The manager and the police detectives start having shootouts. The manager does get shot in the chest. As he clench on to his chest, he falls off the building as Sade watch in horror.

The dvd also includes a bonus video "By Your Side" from Sade's 2000 cd release "Lovers Rock", a discography, biography, and lyrics to all the songs. Sade and her band videos are enjoyable to watch. And each of them have a seriousness feel.

Video Tracklistings In Order:

1. Your Love Is King
2. Smooth Operator
3. Hang On To Your Love
4. Never As Good As The First Time
5. Sweetest Taboo
6. Is It A Crime
7. Paradise
8. Nothing Can Come Between Us
9. Turn My Back
10. Love Is Stronger Than Pride
11. No Ordinary Love
12. Cherish The Day
13. Kiss Of Life
14. Feel No Pain
Bonus Video: By Your Side

Chain D.L.K. design by Marc Urselli
Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha