Music Reviews

Artist: VV.AA.
Title: alfa matrix re:connected [2.0]
Format: 2 x CD (double CD)
Label: Alfa Matrix (@)
Distributor: Soulfood
Rated: *****
Released in a beautiful paper card box with a nice art work here comes a new DCD compilation set of the Alfa Matrix label group out of Belgium. The reason for the release is simple, also Alfa Matrix celebrates its 5th anniversary. With an ever growing roster the need for DCD is surely required to pick all active acts. Almost all bands offer new stuff, or hard to find items. Check the track listing below and pick out your favorite, but a few need to be mentioned here. HEADSCAN opens the first CD with a new cut "Tomorrow Square" – high skilled and modern with some well integrated Trance elements as usual. ZOMBIE GIRL also return with a tougher remix of "Bleeder" which really kicks! TAMTRUM also satisfy here with a remix of their cut with the unspeakable name "Paranoiak, Hypokondriak & Toxicomaniak (The Poison Gift Remix)". Great tracks are also presented by INURE with "Neverending" – this act gets better and better – and STRAY, a side-project of the beloved she-devil UNTER NULL, although on her "Intoxicate (b mix)" I can’t see the sense for this side-project, because the relation to UNTER NULL is immense. Not to forget is Claus Larsen providing a track under his very own name. Second CD offers a new UNTER NULL cut, which follows the kind of her past work and I’m sure the listeners and fans of Erica’s stuff will dig this new tune as well. Both latest new signings I:SCINTILLA and TECHNOIR presenting the title tracks of their EP’s (TECHNOIR offers a special "Birthday Mix"), which got both released besides this compilation in these days. Another new signing is the Swedish act MIND:STATE which follows musically the given course of acts like ASSEMBLAGE 23 with out convincing completely – a bit more own ideas and identity please. SKANDA is a new project between the AIBOFORCEN member Benoit Blanchart and the a;GRUMH frontman J3, also presenting here their first musically sign of life, stylistically playing an ominous kind of haunting EBM – well done, I’ll look forward to hear more. Always to mention has been now and then PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE providing us the old-school formula, and this works also beautiful with "So Schön". The value of this compilation is of course presented though the exclusive stuff all bands have to offer. If you have discovered this growing force out of Belgium you have to pick up this fine DCD set ASAP!


01. HEADSCAN . tomorrow square
02. NEBULA-H feat. PANGEA . andalusion
03. ZOMBIE GIRL . bleeder (industrial strength mix by Seb)
04. IMPLANT . the stimulator
05. SERO.OVERDOSE . your road
06. REGENERATOR . angelie
07. LEAETHER STRIP . gaza strip (occupied territories version)
08. DUNKELWERK . your love (rough cut)
09. TAMTRUM . paranoïak, hypokondriak & toxicomaniak (the poison gift mix)
10. FRONT 242 . headhunter (live)
11. INURE . neverending
12. O.V.N.I. . panic inside (edit)
13. STRAY . intoxicate (b mix)
14. AGONISED BY LOVE . frozen in me (GOD'S OWN MEDICINE mix)
15. CLAUS LARSEN . dannebrog

01. UNTER NULL .prophecy
02. MENTALLO & THE FIXER . brute force uploading (mescalero radio edit)
03. AYRIA . the gun song (shooting blanks)
04. I:SCINTILLA . havestar
05. KLUTAE . happy birthday
06. DISKONNEKTED . 10 years (V 0.1 repeat)
07. MIND:STATE . belief
08. TECHNOIR . manifesto (birthday mix)
09. AIBOFORCEN . confusion (PRIDE & FALL mix)
10. GLIS . dead set [7am]
11. SEIZE . craving (press the mushroom mix)
12. MONOLITH . al ahali (techno mix)
13. SKANDA . soma
14. NEIKKA RPM . demon breeder (anno 5 mix)

Chain D.L.K. design by Marc Urselli
Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha