Maurizio Pustianaz

Mar 242020

‘Plague Alone’

When these tracks were recorded in spring-summer 2019, when the prophetic album title was set in stone, who knew what turbulence the world would undergo, what social isolation we would endure. To face a plague alone…

This release marks a change in the sound of Colossloth. Whilst still traversing landscapes sheathed in cacophony, the layers when stripped back reveal a new sound being forged and emerging forth from the fractured sonics and sepulchral bass rumblings one has come to expect from past releases. Not so much a change of direction, but a bold move forward towards the cinematic, an instinctual transcendence born from annulled ancient currents stirred up once more into frenzied and chthonic ritual.

This new frontier in the Colossloth sound meets the familiar sense of pastoral disquiet and gleefully invigorating spatial havoc utilising a canon of sound that’s normally reserved for taking part in the creation of dimensions. Music for transportation and immersion, taming the wilderness of the ravaged psyche and sailing forth upon it’s turbulent ocean whereof whilst also a meditation on the configurations of sound and it’s transmutations wherein.

Style: Industrial / Noise / Esoteric
Format: CD in digipak
Released: 15th May 2020

Track listing:

1. Little Cups Of Grace (2:30)
2. Dies Infaustus (3:25)
3. Naked Blooded & Witched (8:43)
4. Plague Alone (10:43)
5. Scylla Is Rising (5:16)
6. Silt (15:04)
7. A Fuse Like This Has To Be Lit (14:47)

Mar 192020

Artoffact Records will be postponing PHYSICAL release dates for Spring releases.

This means that you won’t be able to get some of our scheduled releases on Amazon, or at your favourite record store, until June.

This has no effect on our DIGITAL release schedule.

It also has no effect on our BANDCAMP release schedule.

With tours and festivals cancelled, and now releases postponed, we need your help more than ever.

Digital albums on Bandcamp are PAY WHAT YOU CAN.

Mar 052020
‘Buried Steel’
Catalogue Number: CSR278CD
Style: Doom Metal / Industrial
Format: CD in 6-panel digipak
Out: 13th March 2020
The brand new album Birmingham industrial doom metal duo Andy Swan (FINAL, IROHA) & Damian Bennett (TECHNO ANIMAL, CARTHAGE), feat Stephen Mallinder (CABARET VOLTAIRE, WRANGLER), Eugene Robinson (OXBOW) and more… ‘Buried Steel’ is the fourth album from KHOST, following the 2017 release ‘Governance’.

Themes and sonics of ‘Buried Steel’ range from granite and impassive to dreamlike and somnambulistic, in keeping with the promise – and threat – of the title, dwelling on slow, infallible ruination: a gravitational downthrust upon misshapen monuments and structures which are mangled, overgrown and increasingly forgotten. A monochrome landscape where nature reclaims and redefines us as time passes.

Recording of the album was marred with events such as an electrical fire which damaged some equipment. As a result, a number of tracks on the album had to be pieced together from damaged analogue elements such as reel to reel (Khost reel to reel RIP). From this point, the dynamic of some of the songs was altered, shifting their eventual outcome, particularly the tone of ambient work on Buried Steel. 

Further guests on ‘Buried Steel’ include Syan, Manuel Liebeskind, Daniel Buess (16-17, MIR) and Stephen Ah Burroughs (TUNNELS OF AH, ex-HEAD OF DAVID).

CD in 6-panel digipak with artwork contributions from Talitha Bell, Syan and Craig Earp.Track listing:

1. We Will Win (4:06)
2. Blood Gutters 6x4x1 (4:48)
3. Intravener (2:57)
4. Yellow Light (1:54)
5. Last Furnace (5:33)
6. Night Air (4:07)
7. Judgement Is Infallible (1:48)
8. Kent House (1:17)
9. December Bureau (5:26)
10. Vandals (1:57)
11. Dog Unit (4:13)
12. Two (1:19)
13. A Non Temporal Crawlspace (4:18)
14. Intravener In Dub (Mothboy Remix) (8:12) 

KHOST: facebook | bandcamp

Soundcloud: ‘Buried Steel (Playlist)

Video: “Blood Gutters 6x4x1”

Video: Album Teaser  

Customer Purchase Link: Cold Spring Store / Bandcamp


6 Mar – Stuck On A Name, Nottingham – with Ungraven
3 Apr – Temple Of Boom, Leeds – with Voices
24 Apr – The Black Heart, London – with Voices 

Eastern European tour, August 2020
Mar 052020

Jake Schrock “Omnibus” LP (MR-085) $16

Medical brings you a great release a long time in the making. Dallas analog synthesist Jake Schrock has been very active in the Texas music scene for many years with prior releases for S U R V I V E’s Holodeck label as well as performing in //TENSE//. With a literal arsenal of vintage equipment, Jake forges a wonderful, almost 80s soundtrack vibe with deep emotive washes and playful and gentle classic drum machine patterns and beats. Seven unreleased tracks meticulously chosen from the Schrock archive crossing and blending multiple genres (wave, kosmiche, new age) all mastered by Martin Bowes. Original art by Telepath Design. Limited Edition.

Preorder HERE – Includes instant digital download of some of the tracks!

Alessandro Parisi “Ascensione Progressiva” 2LP (MR-086) $22

Medical is honored to support the frequencies and thoughts of Italian producer Alessandro Parisi as we embark on an exploratory voyage into the realms of (un)consciousness. Leave your burdens behind as he guides you through a visionary tour. Eight tracks of cerebral and dancefloor stimulation expanded over a deluxe double LP guaranteed to take you “there” and “back”. Emotive and propulsive storms amidst delicate symphonies await you. Lovers of unique and unclassifiable vibes of dark disco/soundtrack/trance/electrosynth should dive in. Beautiful full color gatefold double LP. Limited Edition.

Preorder HERE – Includes instant digital download of some of the tracks!


Mar 052020
‘In Search Of Tarkovsky’

Catalogue Number: CSR273CDStyle: Drone / Experimental
Format: CD in digipak
Out: 13th March 2020

Minóy (1951-2010), a major figure in DIY noise music, produced some of the most remarkably engrossing, beautiful and imaginative work-of-art albums released on cassette in the 1980’s. 

Created in 1986, “In Search Of Tarkovsky” is dedicated to the late Russian Director Andrei Tarkovsky(“Solaris”, “Stalker”, “Andrei Rublev” etc). A unique world of musical expression, with dense audio abstractions where the origin of any particular sound isn’t quite discernible. A form of labyrinthian, droning collage electronics, otherworldly and dreamlike, at times nightmarish, at times sad, but always bold and deeply affecting. 

Composed after the director’s death, it contains many trademarks of Minóy’s style: manipulation of shortwave radio, use of spring reverb to get those strangely echoing, claustrophobic environments, and then the howling vocals, piling-up and distorting. Minóy plainly mourns the director’s death but in such a unique way there is nothing to compare it to. Two long-form, elaborate pieces (just under 1 hour), essential to Minóy’s aesthetic of “cinema of the ear”. 

This is the first Minóy material ever to be reissued. Unavailable since the original cassette release, these tracks have been remastered from the original archive files and are presented for the first time on CD in a matt-laminate digipak.Track listing:

1. In Search Of Tarkovsky (29:45)
2. Memory Undefined (Dream As Truth) (28:34)

MINOY: facebook | blog wiki

Soundcloud: ‘In Search Of Tarkovsky (Playlist)  

Customer Purchase Link: Cold Spring Store / Bandcamp